All’s Good in the Casbah

So we’re in week three of good eating and good cooking. Good being healthy, healthful, and delicious. I continue to love Tal Ronnen’s book, The Conscious Cook. I think I am going to have to purchase my own copy and give mine back to the library! I raved so much about his Remoulade I had to make it again. Great as a dip for steamed artichokes which I’ve been enjoying quite a lot!

A few nights ago I made Mediterranean Chickpea Wraps from his book. I actually didn’t make wraps but had it as a one-dish meal with naan. Easy, fragrant, and so so good. I will definitely make this again. My husband loved it too. I added fresh spinach once I had it in the bowl so it’s only slightly wilted. Added some greens and texture to an already tasty dish. Doesn’t it look good?

Well, I didn’t stop there. As I mentioned, my husband and I did a juice raw food cleanse and I’ve been rather obsessed (yes, I’ll say it!) about what’s going in my body! We have the every-wondrous Waring blender for fruit juices in the morning and I’ve been having those almost daily. It’s just fruit and a little rice milk. Yummy and filling.

And I did a little more research and bought a super-duper juicer from Williams-Sonoma. Because how was I going to get the green juices? A blender (even one as fabo as the Waring) can’t juice kale. I used it for the first time yesterday and made a spinach, blueberry, apple green juice that went down easier than water. It was that good. I can’t wait to use it again.

Now weekends are hardest because I’m more into this way of eating than my husband. But I think you can have an indulgent meal or two in a week that’s primarily good eating. And a glass of wiine too! And don’t forget, the chocolate cake.

Next week I’m planning to make a pie!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

