Lobsterfest & More

Picture this: hot steaming lobster, farm fresh corn on the cob, spicy andouille sausage, crusty french bread, perfectly matched wine and great friends – all at the Pine Ridge winery amidst the vines. This was our Saturday night and it couldn’t have been any more perfect.

Outside of the Fortis and our good friends B– and L–, our highlight was meeting a work colleague (fabulously smart engineer in the Valley) by chance and his two friends Rob and Bryan (R&B). You just never know who you’ll run into and who you’ll meet. It was kismet.

I am an after-hours gourmet who loves to cook and bake. And so are R&B and B– & L–. We discovered through the course of the evening, we LOVE all things Ina Garten. And so, our next dinner party is born. With our new friends from last weekend and our favorite ones too!

So why Chocolate Cake Wednesday? I have had the eternal desire to own and run a little bakery. But times being what they are and being lucky to have a full-time job that I really enjoy at a company I love, the time is not right.  And I’ve been on a cake baking spree. Thus the Cake.  I bake on Wednesday night so that I can bring the cake up with me to our home in Napa on Thursday night. Thus, the Wednesday part. And well, who doesn’t love Chocolate!

First it was a Caramel Layer Cake, then a Fleur de Sel Chocolate Caramel Layer Cake, then an Old Fashioned Chocolate Layer Cake with Fudge Frosting. I think my next endeavor is a combination of the Fleur de Sel and the Old Fashioned Chocolate.  I can taste it now.  Umm.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

